The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) and Builders Hardware Manufacturers Association (BHMA) grading and testing developed a durability, strength and performance standard for every type of door hardware available. When you order door hardware, you are looking to solve a problem and the solution at hand will you hope will function properly, while providing safe ingress and egress.

BHMA Building Hardware Manufacturer Association | ANSI/BHMA Grading & Testing


In order to receive an ANSI/BHMA certification, the product is sent through a rigorous series of tests for both security and operational. Tests include:

  • Pound Exertion
  • Warped Door
  • Retraction Deadbolt
  • Bolt Strength
  • Impact/Force
  • Security
  • Vertical Load Test
  • Tension Loading
  • Finish
  • Deadbolt Torque

Defining the Grade:

Products that receive an ANSI/BHMA grading and testing for certification will be designated into three Grades: Grade 1, Grade 2 or Grade 3. Grade 1 represents the highest level of performance and sometimes is advertised that it exceeds the ANSI/BHMA grade test. Grade 2 are the Intermediate Level products while Grade 3 are the Basic Level. Grade 3 are ideal for residential homes where the frequency of use and abusive environments are low.

© Copyright IDN, Inc.